Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: new computer/canon issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    central cal
    Posts
    168

    Question new computer/canon issues

    hello all,got new stuff, windows vista(yea i've been hearing).
    does not support canon's digital rebel software "zoom browser/fileviewerex".also how does one get video from a
    cam corder with phono out puts (like a VCR)into a modern
    laptop/pc?
    thank's in advance,
    THE LOWPASS KID...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Mateo, CA
    Posts
    907

    Default Re: new computer/canon issues

    Wacha doin over here?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    8,519

    Default Re: new computer/canon issues

    Canon makes good stuff.. based on Microsoft's results from today, not so sure about their "stuff"...

    Lots of good folks here, thinkin' somoene's going to have the solution...

    Though, I'm pretty tried and true Nikonion now, I used to be a Canon shooter (video) and my current P&S is (by way of price) a Canon...

    Again, lots of good folks here, even some who have seen the Vista that some of us refuse to reach...

    Wayne Sagar
    "Pusher of Electrons"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Dunedin, New Zealand
    Posts
    758

    Default Re: new computer/canon issues

    Hey Low pass... welcome to the boards.

    Does your Camcorder have an S-Video out? if so Canon do make a S-Video to firewire cable kit, so especially if your laptop has a firewire port they are downloadable.
    Also what version of Canon Zoom browser are you using? as there are several updates available for Zoom browser for Vista.

    Vista can be a pain in the proverbial, I deal with these issues regularly in my career as a Digital Imaging Sales specialist, but there are options out there that are vista compatible that can bypass using the likes of zoombrowser.
    race fan, photographer with more cameras than a camera store

  5. #5

    Default Re: new computer/canon issues

    You will probably have to go to Canons website and download Vista drivers. I had to do that with my Caon printer on the system I just built.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    central cal
    Posts
    168

    Thumbs up Re: new computer/canon issues

    thank's for the replies guys.
    Apteryx,forgive me for posting in the wrong area, I'll try not to do it again.
    Wayne,as always,thanks for this website, its the best.
    kiwiracefan,sadly the camcorder does not.i checked the VCR thinking
    i could run it through there into the firewire adaptor you talked about
    but no s-video there either.i have version 6 zoom browser.
    I'll check for updates on the various websites and see what i can find.
    Thanks again Fellas,
    Ric Taylor

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    The Biggest Little City
    Posts
    699

    Default Re: new computer/canon issues

    I have canon stuff along with Vista, and they get along pretty good, but yes, I did have to get updates. At first I wasn't too sure about Vista, but I'm digging it now.

    LP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •