X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT Dooooohhh!

Oh man I hate it when that happens!

Re: OT Dooooohhh!

What the hell? Was that caused by the gear being hung out of the floats? (I know NOTHING about float flying)

Comment

At least it was water. And darn glad they was ok. Maybe splased down a little hard and it tipped forward causing the floats to dig in?

Comment

I'm by no means an expert , but it looked like floats with retractable gear. Someone once compared landing an aircraft with floats w/ gear on terra firma as "landing a shopping cart." I also heard somewhere that insuring an aircraft with such gear-equipped floats is more expensive than normal floats or normal gear, supposedly because gear-down water landings are nearly always fatal. Just glad to see that they were ok!
        --Amy

-Tomcats and Red Mustangs Forever-

Comment

There is a Caravan that operates out of here with that type of float. It is very sketchy looking when landing.

Comment

Originally posted by Race5
            What the hell? Was that caused by the gear being hung out of the floats? (I know NOTHING about float flying)
            Yup that's it. I got the chance to fly right seat in a Cessna Caravan on amphibious floats in Nigeria in 1995. That, by the way, is exactly the vehicle you want to get around Nigeria in. What a bird. Anyway... the pilot told me that's the most dangerous thing you can do is land on water with the wheels out. It always produces the results pictured here.
            Bill Garnett
            InterstellarDust
            Air Race Fanatic since 1965

Comment

Interstellar Bill is right. Any, every time you land an amphib (any amphib from cub to Albatross) with the gear down, it will flip. Much better to land on the runway with the gear up, then it will just grind the keels off.

Extended GUMP check of the amphib pilot -- "This is a land landing, my wheels are down" or "This is a water landing, my wheels are up".

John, former Widgeon pilot.

Comment