No announcement yet.

Darryl greenmayer f104 rb(red baron) ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Darryl greenmayer f104 rb(red baron) ??

Has any one pics or videoclips of this homebuild jet??
    Any info or specs on this Jet??

Re: Darryl greenmayer f104 rb(red baron) ??

Good pics and narrative in the 1977-78 Racing Planes & Air Races by Dusty Carter...for whatever that's worth.

Comment

When I worked at Lockheed Missles and Space in the late 80's, I had a senior engineer call me a liar when I told the story of the RF-104. He said could never happen, wouldn't happen and the whole idea was ridiculous. Since I was a consultant, I withheld my opinion of him. I could not find my own documentation, a story in the old "Western Aviation" magazine. At least thats what I think it was called. I could have one a pretty good bet if I would have had that story.

Dan Plunkett

Comment

Well, the story does/did seem improbable, considering that the Air Force even told Greenamyer that he did NOT have an F-014.

But the thing was built up over the course of several years from the junk/wreckage of several airframes. And it made attempts at the low altitude speed record both in '76 and '77. Both times the timing equipment malfunctioned, negating the 'really' fast runs (which I believe was something over 1010 mph). The official record was set at 988, if I remember right.

It was, of course, destroyed in early 1978 while practicing for an attempt at the world altitude record.

Comment

It´s a hotrod jet !
          A cool project for the winter.
          And can you fly it a at full speed whan is jet sports aircraft.
          Cay you buy a jet fighter today.

Comment

Nice kit there.

I customized a Hasegawa 1/32 Starfighter about 10 years into the RB-104. I think it's still on display in the cases at the Planes of Fame in Chino.

Comment