Question for the pro's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for the pro's

All GA aircraft that Im familliar with have a prop wash that cause the AC to yaw to the left. Some racers at Reno have contra-rotating props, would this then cancel the yaw effect? Could a plane like White Lightining run the left motor clockwise and right counter clockwise to cancel prop wash also? Just Wondering!

Re: Question for the pro's

I'm not a pro with aircraft, but I'll have a go. Short answer yes, counter-rotating props would negate P-factor, as would a twin with counter-rotating props.

Long answer, mostly yes. There are more things on an aircraft than just the propeller rotating. There is the crankshaft, fly-wheels, gears (if it is a geared engine), and so on to start with. All of these components rotating add to the total rotational inertia of the engine/propeller, which adds to P-factor. A good illustration of what I mean by rotational inertia is a gyroscope. You push on it and it reacts 90 deg. from where the force is applied. So counter-rotating propellers would negate the portion of P factor due to asymmetrical thrust, and most of the P-factor caused by rotational inertia, (opposite directions subtract form total inertia) but not all of it unless done right.

Phew! Hope this answers your question.
    Fast Flying Female, both on the ground and in the air!

Comment

The P-82 twin Mustang had conter rotating props. In fact one of the major hang ups in the restoration of that AC is finding a reverse rotation prop and governor set up. The CAF's P-82 crashed when the reverse prop had a seal failure. I'm sure Hamilton Standard could build a prop for the right price, but it would be a huge price I'm sure. The Merlin on that side has to run backward as well if I remember correctly, but it might have a reverse rotation gear box on that side????

Comment

if i'm not mistaken the caf's f-82 is a later model, if it is, then it would have an allison engine...