A question for 2018 Pylon Press photographers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A question for 2018 Pylon Press photographers

Something I've been wodering about -- so a question for the 2018 Pylon Press that are posting here: Is there any access to Unlimited Pylons 4 and 5 these days? I've been curious, because I'm seeing a lot of great shots so far, but most of the pylon stuff is pretty conventional and looks to be mostly Pylon 2 with a bit of Pylon 8. I'm not seeing much Victor Archer style "in your face" stuff where you can tell whether the pilot plucks his nose hairs or not. I've always loved those pictures ever since Victor showed us it could be done. I've always found those cropped closeups to be dynamic and romantic, and to me they say "Air Racing!". I still remember the "Holy Crap" moments I experienced when I first saw Victor's material and realized I was going to have to seriously up my game here.

Actually, I guess which pylon matters less than the light direction and where the photographer stands, as I think all these were done from the regular pylons. But I'd really like to see some stuff like this from 2018. I've had hopes for Wayne to have some, but I'd be interested in anything form any of the Pylon press folks.

Neal

Click image for larger version

Name:	_N3N1023.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	114.9 KB
ID:	242250Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC9926-ACRed.jpg
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	242251Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC9782-ACRed-copy-sharpened.jpg
Size:	135.2 KB
ID:	242252Click image for larger version

Name:	_NLW3745.jpg
Size:	83.5 KB
ID:	242253

Re: A question for 2018 Pylon Press photographers

Originally posted by wingman View Post