Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clues Needed

Howdy to all,

Over this last weekend my wonderfull homebuilt computer has developed a hickup.

Three times yesterday...it just shut down. Not a reboot, but a total shut down. Nothing has been lost, other than a few brain cells I've killed trying to sort this out.

My CPU, MB, and system temps are very good. There are no unusual ordors coming from the maching either.

My PNY GeForce 8800GT card on the other hand has been running @ temps of 65c...while under load they do climb towards the 75c mark...or 149F - 167F. I'm no expert, but this does seem a bit on the high side. But then these cards have been known to run a little on the 'hot' side.

I've tweaked the fan speed on the video card and under little/no load it's now running at 48c/118F.

I'm used to dealing with a reboot due to an overheating problem. Not a complete shutdown when all appears to be well.

Anyway...please toss some ideas out my way. I'm running an MSI MB with an intel Q6600, Thermaltake Toughpower 700W PS, 4 gigs ram...Thermaltake CPU fan to keep things cool.

Up till shut down there are no obvious signs of system instability.

Many thanks for and ideas, and yes, I've backed up...

LP
    Last edited by MMPerk; 03-02-2009, 09:53 AM.

Re: Clues Needed

Originally posted by MMPerk View Post
    Howdy to all,

Over this last weekend my wonderfull homebuilt computer has developed a hickup.

Three times yesterday...it just shut down. Not a reboot, but a total shut down. Nothing has been lost, other than a few brain cells I've killed trying to sort this out.

My CPU, MB, and system temps are very good. There are no unusual ordors coming from the maching either.

My PNY GeForce 8800GT card on the other hand has been running @ temps of 65c...while under load they do climb towards the 75c mark...or 149F - 167F. I'm no expert, but this does seem a bit on the high side. But then these cards have been known to run a little on the 'hot' side.