Photography Classes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photography Classes

I'm just wondering of you photographers out there have taken a class or two or even more. Would you recomend taking a class or classes?

Thanks for your time,

Lonnie

PS. My Reno stuff should be finished any day now, I changed how the entire gallery and subgalleries at the last minute, otherwise that projesct would have been done long ago.

Re: Photography Classes

I took a semester long photography class in 9th grade. I'm still a lousy photographer, but at least I know what I'm doing wrong

Seriously, I'm always amazed at how little some folks know about the relationships between shutter speed, motion, apature, depth of field, and film speed...make that sensor speed. And then there are the basics of composition.

Even with modern PhD (Push Here Dummy) cameras, I think folks would benefit from some learning in photographic basics. Control of motion and depth are an integral part of achieving good results. The art of composition though is something much more difficult to teach.
    No pixels were harmed, honest.

http://www.ignomini.com
    http://www.pbase.com/ignomini

Comment

Thanks for the reply,

I've been reading material from a friends class that she has been taking, and it's really opened my eyes. I've never taken a class, but through reading came to understand a few of the basics, but after reading through some of this other stuff...I can see that there's a lot that I don't know.

I'm going to explore the possibilities...I think I got some pretty good results both from PRS and from the races...but I know that I can do better...

Lonnie

Comment

I've had a few friends over the years that have taken some decent classes, even at the junior college level. Objectively it improved their end product skills, quite a bit.

Good dark room techniques a few years ago, and now Photo-shop classes, really made for some art.

I'd say if you've got the time, go for it.