Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Countdown to Reno 2009

Newest Member Here;
    Outer 6 Pylon Judge at Reno. Hope to post and comment like Chicago voting...early and often! First crack at attaching images as well.

Happy New Year Everyone! 256 Days and Counting...

Air Judge
    Last edited by Air Boss; 06-30-2009, 09:15 PM.
    Owen Ashurst
    Performer Air Boss - Reno Air Races
    http://airbossone.com/

Re: Countdown to Reno 2009

How long have you been a pylon judge? And how did that evolve, that is- did you have to start on the F-1 coarse and work up to unlimited. Does senority play a part.

Any cool stories about the job you could share?

Comment

Just looked at the Blue Angel sight.

looks like they are coming to Reno....

Comment

is Jerry Van Cetters still out at pylon 6

Comment

T.F -
          I've been judging at Reno since 2002. First two years are spent working as road guards and travelling out to various pylons to learn the trade. Fortunate to have been selected to work Outer 6 right out of the gate. Given daily schedule during race week, this means after 0700hrs pylon judges mtg, I'm somewhat free until larger a/c begin quals or racing...usually after 1130 or so. If you're working F-1 and Bip's, you head straight to the pylon after mtg and you're done by 1130 so the day is oyurs. Good news, bad news I suppose. Seniority is a factor to some degree. That said, some very senior judges work the lighter a/c pylons by choice. Other more junior judges (yours truly) work the outer pylons. Chief Pylon Judge can come along and ask if you're interested in taking on another assignment. It's really a matter of preference but most folks are eager to help out wherever the CPJ needs help.