Tiger's pass to take the lead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tiger's pass to take the lead

I have been sitting in the same spot for 25 years and I have watched them come around the last turn before the home pylon countless times.
    When Tiger made his pass he flew a line I have never seen before. Sort of a last second extreme change in the angle of the turn. Right as he made the pass I heard another pilot say over the radio "where you going Tiger?" Not sure who it was that said it.

I though for sure that he cut the pylon or at least made an illegal pass but they called the race clean. Anyone else notice that?

Not trying to call into question his victory or anything like that, He was my pick for winner this year. I am very pleased to see Strega back in the winners circle. but I have never seen a pass like that at that pylon.

Thoughts?

Re: Tiger's pass to take the lead

The pass was made on the inside between pylon 7/8 and was questioned, but the race was called clean. Mike Brown was quite surprised to see the belly of Tiger's aircraft without warning when he rolled up to turn. Mike is the one who made the comment.

Michael

Comment

Dago did the same thing on Saturday at the VOS.
      Rutan Long EZ, N-LONG
      World Speed Record Holder

Comment

It thought it was Mike Brown.

looked pretty sketchy from my seat
        Last edited by flyingjibus; 09-16-2008, 12:40 PM.

Comment

Contest committee agreed with Tiger - clean pass. Mike was on the deadline and left himself wide open to being passed on the inside.

Comment

As you all know things look weird from different angles, but I agree it looked illegal to me also. KC

Comment