Off topic (digital camera question?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off topic (digital camera question?)

I'm looking to buy a new digital camera (under $500.00) and looking for suggestions. I'd like a good telephoto lense for Reno......I'm a very amateur photographer. Cameras I've looked at so far are:

Canon S5...........8 pixels.....12x zoom. $299.00

Olympus SP-570 10 Pixels..........20x zoom $449.00

Olympus SP-560 8 pixels............18x zoom $349.00

Sony H50 9.1 pixels.............15x Zoom $359.00

Nikon Coolpix P80 10.1 pixels.................18x zoom.........$369.00

I'll be shooting from the bleachers, and handheld.......no tripod. I won't be enlarging to anymore then 8x10" and mostly just 3x5 +/-
    Any suggestions?? Any recommendations on other cameras........I want to stay digital and not SLR mainly for the lightness and smaller size.
    Thanks for your info.
    Brian

Re: Off topic (digital camera question?)

I have the Canon S5 and while I like it I wish I would have gotten something else. When I got it I was looking for something relatively small (compared to my DLSR), took video, had more advanced features than your standard point and shoot and had a decent zoom (longer than 3X). While the S5 has all that, I have been really disappointed in it's image quality with the ISO set at anything higher than 100. It really makes shooting in low light situations very frustrating.
    maybe I'm doing something wrong though.
    Stevo

Blue Thunder Air Racing
    My Photos
    My Ride

Comment

Hi Brian,

Just a quick reply from me, having seen and used most of those cameras in my job (im a retail photographic sales consultant) my pic would be the Canon S5 or the sony H50 with the canon edging out the sony... the main reason for the canon winning my choice is canon's use of SD memory vs Sony Memory Stick... the SD you can take to any brand except Olympus or Sony if you choose to upgrade at a later date.