Quick story

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quick story

I had an extra ticket for Saturday, and just figured that I would give it to someone sporting a cool t-shirt. So, I find this guy in line (way back) wearing a Steadfast shirt. I walked over and said, "hey, nice shirt, would you like a ticket for today for free?" Well, he thought I was a scam artist, and refused, but I told him and his friend "what would it hurt to take it and see if I was a B.S. artist" Nothing ventured, nothing gained.
    He reluctantly agreed, and I proceeded to go through the bag check area.

Once inside, I made my way toward the pit entrance, only to be called on my cell phone by an old friend to meet him in the static display. I meander my way to the opposite end, and the t-shirt guy was taking pics of the planes on the ramp. I walk up to his buddy and laughingly say "you should tell him that not everyone is a scammer". Then his buddy turns around and comes over to shake my hand, now all smiles. We talk for a few, and went on our merry ways.

Anyway, long story short, a cool looking Steadfast shirt got this guy a free ticket, but you can't believe how hard it is to give something away these days.... Paul

Re: Quick story

I was standing in line for a pit pass with my 9 year old nephew on Saturday, and a woman walked up to me and said 'you taking the kid to the pits?' I said yes and she handed me her 'extra' pit pass. Some cool stuff happens at Reno. Thanks again.

Comment

I can believe how hard it is to give something away, and this was to a friend. The people next to us had 2 extra box seat tickets for Sunday, I was given the tickets and then went to get my friend and his wife who were both at the races. They looked at me like I was nuts, and even after showing them the tickets, it took a few more minutes before they decided I wasn't joking around. I might joke around now and then, but never about air racing and tickets.

Lonnie

Comment