Press pass criteria

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Press pass criteria

What is the criteria for getting a press pass. I ask because on Saturday I was parked in the $7 Boy Scout lot right up front near the gate. After the day was over I saw more than a few people with the press stickers on their shirt walking back to cars parked in the general population lot. After Sunday I saw a whole lot of people out around the planes on the flight line again with press stickers, but to me it seemed like they were just regular hobby photographers, like me who just happened to get press passes.

Criteria

Mr. Adams,

Wayne, hopefully, will back me up on this... I've been covering Reno since 1986 in one way or another, and have had press credentials since then. There *are* two or three different types of press out there during the races. Here's how I see it...

1. There are the guys and gals like Chuck Aro, Neal Nurmi and Jim Larsen that have been covering Reno for years and years and years. They are our historians, and Keepers of the Photos. Their contributions over the years have been great and many. They are the "real deals."

2. In my humble opinion, the next rung down the ladder are the guys that get something published every so often, and are making a great effort at covering the races. They try to get the great shot, the story, and really make a great effort to get a air racing story published. These guys/gals will become the next "real deals."

3. Now we get to the fluff... There are people that get credentials that appear to be, as you said, "hobbyist." Although appearances can be decieving, some of them are legitamate, and some are not. I remember a few years back... The Japanese girl at the pylon in short shorts, a tank top and high heels. This is great to look at, but she took up the space for another real journalist.