Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does anyone here remember T.J. Brown and the Coca Cola/Holiday Inn airshow team?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anyone here remember T.J. Brown and the Coca Cola/Holiday Inn airshow team?

They flew Pitts. He was a hell of a good guy and pilot.

Re: Does anyone here remember T.J. Brown and the Coca Cola/Holiday Inn airshow team?

Was he the guy who got killed in Russia or somewhere in one of the old Sovjet states? His partner died in the F-86 crash at El Toro some years back.

T J

Comment

Re: Does anyone here remember T.J. Brown and the Coca Cola/Holiday Inn airshow team?

Yeah it was Uzbekistan I believe. I was an officer in the Georgia Southern University Pilots Association at the time. He was really good to us.

Some members of his team talked about flying ILS approaches in total IMC while in formation with the Pitts. T.J. said they had gyros they could cage while performing but those planes were full IFR certified.

I can't believe no one else remembers them they put on a good show.

Comment

I ferried Don Johnson's Rebel 300 way back, out of an airshow at Quebec, Canada and met TJ and the Holiday Inn team.

They were very proficient and flew a lot of shows per year.

T.J. told me about the IFR operational waiver when I saw him filing to leave Monday am after the airshow. They blasted off, flight of four, into the soup. Very cool.

Does anyone remember his partner's name from Jacksonville, Jim something I think, and know where his Super Ventura went to?

Chris...

Comment

Hello All,

I do remember these folks. Back in 1990 TJ and his company (National Airshows, I think it was) awarded me a scholarship to fly. His lead mechanic, Clyde Green, was my flight instructor. I trained in a Citabria 7ECA tail-dragger and received my license in 1991.