Traffic at Stead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Traffic at Stead

This is my first time at Reno (I can't wait!). I'm only there Saturday & Sunday. With the first action at 8AM, when should I leave downtown Reno to have a chance of getting to the stands to see the first race?? Is traffic going in a nightmare?? Thanks!

Re: Traffic at Stead

Originally posted by drmull
    This is my first time at Reno (I can't wait!). I'm only there Saturday & Sunday. With the first action at 8AM, when should I leave downtown Reno to have a chance of getting to the stands to see the first race?? Is traffic going in a nightmare?? Thanks!
    I've been staying at the field for the last few years but traffic is pretty thick from what I remember. It is also handled better than at any other large event I've ever attended, so much so that organizers from other events conference with the Reno Police in order to learn how they do it.

I'd plan on leaving a couple hours early if you'd like to get a good parking space and seat (assuming you're general admission)

Besides, being there reeeaaalllly early will net you some early AM engine runs..

And the usual bust the field up runs by Strega and others that happen as the AM wake up call..

Being out at Stead really early has some great benefits.

Wayne
    Wayne Sagar
    "Pusher of Electrons"

Comment

Thanks very much!!

Thanks, Wayne. I'm taking my 74-year old dad with me, so we're in the handicapped lot and do have reserved seats. I can picture getting out of the rent car and hearing a Merlin screaming by- makes my heart race. As a matter of fact, I'm not ashamed to say that sound has brought tears to my eyes in the past-

Comment

thanks again

We'll try to get there early. I notice sunrise is about 6:40. I think this will work- no McDonald's!!

Comment