Hacker's First Flight in the UK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hacker's First Flight in the UK

This is a repost of what I made over on the WIX board, but I figured that the AAFO crowd would be interested in it, too.

Yesterday was my first flight in the UK in the F-15E, and it was really incredible. I wanted to share some photos of it.

Some background on me, for those who don't know -- I flew the F-15E for three years or so between '99 and '03, and most recently I've been a T-38 instructor for a little over 3 years. I have just been assigned back to the F-15E at RAF Lakenheath in England for another 3-year tour (sing it with me everyone, "....a threeee yeeear toooour").

Since arriving at my new squadron, life has been a flurry of activity, from finding a new place to live, to learning to drive on the "wrong" side of the road. By far the toughest of these things has been learning how to fly in the UK. For those of you who've never flown here (as well as you Brits who've never flown in the US), the rules of flying and the words used over the radio here are quite a bit different than I'm used to. As such there is an in-depth academic and simulator program designed to teach these differences, as well as a "local area orientation" flight.

Most of the differences have to do with airspace -- what is controlled and what is not controlled -- and radar service -- what the ATC people are providing, from traffic avoidance to traffic awareness to terrain clearance. The reality is that there are FAR less restrictions in the UK than there are in the US, giving significantly more latitude to the pilot to go where he wants and when. However, this also allows the pilot to get himself into a lot more trouble if he doesn't watch where he's going.