X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jet Motors

Newbie here-
    Does anyone know if they soup up the jet motors
    or are the L-39 motors are more or less stock?
    And if they soup 'em up, what is done?
    Thanks!

Re: Jet Motors

I think they have to be stock. How Penney makes Pip Squeak go so much faster than the competition is beyond me.

Comment

I was under the impression this class was similar to T-6/SNJ racin'....bone-stock...only, those suck-n-blows don't sound near as cool!!!
      About the only way to 'soup-up' a jet is to re-program fuel flow.....put enough Kerosene in until just before the tailpipe glows! (OK, it's a little more complex than that...) It's all about heat management. I don't know if you can put water injection on it, though......
      The jets just don't have that...HAPPY 'RENO' SOUND! But, they ARE fast!
      Eddie's Airplane Patch-Birthplace of the "Sonic Boom".......and I'm reminded every friggin' day!

Comment

Originally posted by SpinB
        I don't know if you can put water injection on it, though......
        !