History of Reno Air Races

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• History of Reno Air Races

Hi, my name is Steven, and i am a resident of california. I am doing a project on the Reno Air Races and i was wondering if anyone had any information on the history of the races. If you have any information and would like to help you can just reply on this post.

Thank you

Re: History of Reno Air Races

I recommend John Tegler's Gentlemen, You Have A Race for a year-by-year account of the races from '64 to '84.

Comment

Try contacting RARA directly. Their website is www.airrace.org.
      Betty

Comment

Originally posted by Randy Haskin
        I recommend John Tegler's Gentlemen, You Have A Race for a year-by-year account of the races from '64 to '84.
        Well "I", and my "other brother Randy" would probably recommend just looking at the pictures, and taking the content of the writing with a grain of salt.

Now, if we could just finish (or START) "Brad & Randy's Kick-Ass Encyclopedia of Air Racing: A two-volume set", people wouldn't have to ask questions like this.

Sigh.......I hate it when real life intervenes with plans.

Comment

John Tegler has almost finished "Gentlemen, the Race Continues", which will bring us pretty much up to the present. I don't know of a publication date however.

BillRo

Comment

Originally posted by BillRo
            John Tegler has almost finished "Gentlemen, the Race Continues",
            I think you need to clarify that, Bill....John has had that book 'almost finished' for the last 7 or 8 years.

He also is 'almost finished' with 'They Did It In The Desert', which is supposed to be a book about the Mojave races.

But I'm not holding my breath for either one of them anytime soon.....

Comment