Is anyone into gliding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is anyone into gliding

I was just wondering how many of us were into soaring, I have some time in them but don't have my cert., It has got to be one of the best forms of flight there is.
    Tony

Re: Is anyone into gliding

Originally posted by deepsky
    I was just wondering how many of us were into soaring, I have some time in them but don't have my cert., It has got to be one of the best forms of flight there is.
    Count me in, deepsky. I've been flying gliders since 1972; my current ride is a two-place Duo Discus, truly a magic carpet. On a good day with cloudbases up around the FL180 VFR ceiling, with the Duo's 46:1 glide ratio I can be halfway across the state and yet need only one good thermal to get home (YMMV, and of course there are no guarantees in the gliding business). Plus, you can't beat the scenery flying over the Rockies.

The best part: once you've absorbed the fixed costs of ownership and paid the towpilot, there are no incremental costs beyond an occasional oxygen fill-up: a five hour cross-country costs no more than a short local hop.
    SteveZ

Comment

I only have about 3 tows in a 2-33, but my bro got his license and then owned John Seymour's former out-and-return record-holding ASW-20 for about 2 years. We picked it up at Karl Striedeck's Eagle's Nest gliderport in State College, PA. Drove all night through an ice storm -- sucked!

Meanwhile, we're big time into RC soaring. We are past cross country National Champs, and I was 6th this past summer. We winch-launch, get high and jump into a convertible and fly laps on a 10KM straight-line course as many times as possible. It is a pure distance event, no time. Our best is 27 miles, but the official record is 140 miles, set out West, not at the Muncie, IN AMA flying site.

We also fly slope. Look what Santa got for me: