Bear Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bear Question

As a HUGE bear fan that has followed her for years I was wondering about the problem that was fixed this year to get her running the best it has in years...We all know for years they have been chasing stuff with the motor and the word was always about cylinder problems and changing those out all the time...This year was the first time that I had ever heard anything about a blower being changed out. Could this have been the problem for years that they sniffed out??? Could this mean that the Bear will be much more consistently healthy in upcoming years??? I am not an expert on this stuff just a fan trying to be optimistic that the crew may actually get to sleep one of these years and see the bear cross the finish line first for many years to come. I know there are a lot of people in the know on the bear crew that check the board so hopefully you can enlighten. Thanks

Re: Bear Question

I believe the problems with the cylinders was traced to bad/deffective valve guides. The current motor still has several cylinders with those guides. They are being changed out as needed.

The supercharger problem was new this year. The bearings in the blower simply wore out. I'm not sure when it was last serviced/replaced. Anyone know what the normal life span of a supercharger is?

Comment

And if it made metal, how did they keep the engine running? Or how'd they clean out the innards? With friends like Dago, who needs enemas?
      Rutan Long EZ, N-LONG
      World Speed Record Holder

Comment

They were lucky that the only metal was bearing material (silver). A few more minutes and it would have been hard metal and seized the engine. The big fear was that the silver was from the master rod bearings which is also fatal and the source of all the jewelry jokes from competitors.