Propellers, Flutter and sundry

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Propellers, Flutter and sundry

I was going to start a thread on props and such and not impede very informative Reno-Stead reports -- I won't get there till friday night of the races and I need all the info I can get until then!

I figured CurtB would chime in and fix my mistakes and fill my gaps, and he sort of beat me to it - anyway, another thread still seems appropriate.

So first, propellers. I'm not an expert on them, but I am an interested user of them and one thing a propeller is *not* is a screw (and neither is a ship's screw, for that matter.)

A propeller, as has been pointed out elsewhere, is a rotating wing. It makes lift just like a wing does, and that lift is utilized as thrust. Wings make lift by pushing air down (with the equal an opposite reaction that the air pushing the wing up.) Propellers do the same. What makes a propeller interesting is the fact unlike a wing, it's constantly flying it its own wake, which makes the details of how the air gets pushed and how much more complicated.

However, the basic facts are the same for wings and propeller blades. Both have properties dominated by the angle the airfoil makes with the oncoming air. Both are affected by Reynolds' number and Mach number; both can stall.

Just like a wing, a propeller blade has an optimal angle of attack that determines how much lift (thrust) the blade makes, and how much drag (torque) the engine has to overcome (provide) to keep it moving. A propeller's angle of attack is a function of the RPM and forward speed, and since both can change, the angle of attack varies widely. Adjusting blade pitch angle allows some control over this angle of attack, but not entirely, because there's another factor: each part of propeller blade moves at a different speed from zero at the hub to fastest at the tip.