• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Happened to all the Yak's?

Specifically these two

Random Air Blog

Re: What Happened to all the Yak's?

The top one was Holbrook Maslen's "Night Witch" N134US. It had a crash landing in 2005. Not sure what the disposition of the airframe is/was. It showed up at PRS once or twice but never raced.

The bottom one, "Maniyak" was Asher Ward's plane. That photo is from 1987 with the Long EZ canopy on it. It was purchased by Tom Camp and for a few years had a stock canopy put on it. Then he put a bigger motor in it and converted it to a single seater. He raced it until 2002 or so and then sold it to a gentleman named Jim Nezgoda. Mr. Nezgoda had already rolled one Yak up in a ball at Reno in the late '90's, but when Tom tried to give him a cockpit checkout he replied "I'm a professional pilot...I don't need one", and then proceeded to lose directional control on takeoff from Ione on the first flight....and wrecked that one too. The wreckage was purchased by William Lewallen in Arizona, rebuilt as a two-seater, and flies regularly. Hasn't raced again, though.

Comment

Originally posted by Big_Jim View Post
      The top one was Holbrook Maslen's "Night Witch" N134US. It had a crash landing in 2005. Not sure what the disposition of the airframe is/was. It showed up at PRS once or twice but never raced.