Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• REMEMBER D-DAY!!!

"D-Day Survivor"-

Valiant Air Command's Douglas C-47A Skytrain 'Tico Belle' (42-100591/N3239T) participated in the June 6, 1944 Allied Normany Invasion of Europe. She's taxiing-in after landing @ the Kissimmee, FL airport in this Dec. '99 photo & has been repainted since then.

Here's a link to the plane's history:

May we never forget the countless great sacrifices made on behalf of freedom. Keep the flame burning ever-bright!

Another link to some 'living color' photo reflections of the time:

DBD
    Attached Files
    Last edited by BuckyD; 06-06-2012, 09:25 PM.

Re: REMEMBER D-DAY!!!

Thanks Bucky. Back when the movie "Saving Private Ryan" was released, I was a contractor working in telecommunications at a large MCI mid-range terminal in W. Sacramento. The owner of the small company that I worked for came out from Maine to see the job site, and I took her to see the movie. She was a happy go-lucky, tall willowy blond young woman, who happened to be an ex-Army combat veteran paratrooper among other things.
    Well needless to say, (for anyone who ever saw that outstanding D-day centered movie), I was profoundly moved by it, but even more so because I spent the whole movie holding this female combat veteran who cried on my shoulder through the whole movie, while I took her back to her motel, and while I stayed with her for a few more hours, after tucking her in, 'til she finally fell asleep.
    That movie absolutely gutted both of us. I did not cry during the the movie itself, and amazingly she was actually fine the next day, but I found myself having powerful flashbacks of the movie, with tears streaming down my face for months afterward.
    The flashbacks were triggered whenever I was in out in public, and it struck me that all the people around me were utterly ignorant of the magnitude of the sacrifices of their forefathers, to give them the way of life that they take for granted.